Skip to Main Content

CWEC Home

The Canadian Women Economists Committee/Comité des Femmes Économistes Canadiennes was created in 2017 as a standing committee of the Canadian Economic Association charged with supporting and promoting the advancement of women in the Canadian economics profession. We interpret 'women' broadly, to include those who identify as a woman and those whose gender expression may be perceived by society as being associated with being a woman or female. 

It follows directly from the Canadian Women Economist Network (CWEN) which was founded in 1990 as an independent association of persons interested in promoting women economists and their ideas. The change from CWEN to CWEC recognizes that this responsibility of supporting and promoting women does not just fall on women alone, but on the profession as a whole. Over the past three decades, CWEC/CWEN has been instrumental in promoting women’s involvement with and within the wider Canadian economics community.

 

Check out our Winter 2024 Newsletter featuring an article about Claudia Goldin and an interview with Brenda Eaton. 

Upcoming Events:

CEDC Research Competition - Call for Proposals. Visit the CEA CEDC page for details

Summer School on Mesoeconomics - Visit the EVENTS page for more information

 

Early career Women Economists:  Lunch-Time Series

The Canadian Women Economist Committee (CWEC/CFÉC) is hosting a brownbag series this winter 2024. It will be held on the last Monday of every month from January 2024 to April 2024 (10 AM PT/11 AM MT/12 PM CT/1 PM ET/2 PM AT).   

March 25, 2024 (to be rescheduled)

Laëtitia Renée (Université de Montréal)

Title: The Impact of After-School Care on Maternal Income: Evidence from Canadian Administrative Data

Renfang Tian (King's University College at Western University) 

Title: Neural Network Empowered Two-stage Regression 

April 29, 2024 

Yixuan Li (MacEwan University) 

Title: Stochastic Discount Factors in Incomplete Markets 

Yiwen Victoria Wang (The University of Winnipeg) 

Title: Crude Oil, Sovereign Wealth Funds, and Global Equilibrium Real Interest Rates 

 

Email cwec.cfec@gmail.com to get on the mailing list for the zoom link.

 

Job Market Mentoring Events - Videos and Slide Decks

Thank you to all the mentors and mentees who took part in this year's fall mentoring events focusing on the job market.  

A.  Application Tips

B.  Presentation Tips

 

Past Events

International Women's Day Lecture on Zoom

Nava Ashraf

Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)

Inspire Inclusion

 

Watch the video of the talk here

 

About the Presenter: 

Professor Ashraf’s research combines psychology and economics, using both lab and field experiments to test insights from behavioural economics in the context of global development in Africa, Latin America, and Southeast Asia. She also conducts research on questions of intra-household decision making and gender norms in the areas of finance, fertility, and labor force participation. Her papers are published in leading journals including the American Economic Review, the Quarterly Journal of Economics and the Journal of Economic Perspectives. Her field experiments on health services delivery and educational investment have been carried out jointly with the Ministries of Health and Education in Zambia, using a model of co-generation of knowledge, reaching national and global scale.

Join our mailing list for our latest news and events.

Contact information:

Email us at cwec.cfec [at] gmail.com

Follow us on Twitter @CdnWomenEcon

Follow us on LinkedIn

We use QuestionPro's Survey software to collect the student and faculty data that is analyzed in the 2022 CWEC/CFEC Survey Report on the Representation of Women Economists in Canada’s Universities.