Skip to Main Content

CEA - Bank of Canada Undergraduate Student Paper Awards



Photo: Award winner for Best Research Paper at the Banff Meetings, Ian Sapollnik (The University of British Columbia) for his paper "The Minimum Wage, Earned Income Tax Credit, and the Market for Alternative Credit"


Congratulations to the 2021 Winners:

The prize for Best Research Paper is awarded to Alyssa Russell (University of Victoria) for her paper “Damage functions and the social cost of carbon: estimating marginal damages under the representative concentration pathways.”

The prize for Best Presentation is awarded to Daniel Moore (Memorial University of Newfoundland) for his paper “Reelection Incentives and Regional Policy Responses to COVID-19.

The committee addresses Honourable mentions to Javier Cortes Orihuela (University of British Columbia) for his paper “Natural hazards and retrospective voting: evidence from Chile."


Call for Submissions: Now Closed

A poster session that showcases undergraduate student research will be take place via video-conference during the 55th Annual Meeting of the Canadian Economics Association (CEA). Current undergraduate students, or those who have graduated in the past year but have not yet begun their graduate studies, are encouraged to apply to participate. High-quality original research papers, in either French or English, focusing on any area of Economics will be considered.

A maximum of 10 students will be invited to present their research in an online video-conference. The successful candidates should prepare to present their work in a poster format that will be presented to a select group of evaluators in a virtual presentation setting. Details regarding the specific format for presenting will be forthcoming. Prizes for Best Poster Presentation and Best Paper of $500 CAD each will be awarded. In addition a smaller prize will be awarded to each of the 10 successful candidates.



The submission deadline was May 2, 2021 23:59 EST. 

Students selected for participation will be notified around Monday May 17th. After which the successful candidates will be notified and provided with a date for presentation.


Those interested in participating must submit a completed online application here and include the following documents:
- Resume of the author(s)
- Name and contact details of the person who supervised the research
- Full draft (preferred) or extended paper outline. The paper should include a short summary (about 150 words) and JEL codes to identify the topic of the paper



The prize for Best Research Paper was awarded to Jaycee Tolentino (University of British Columbia) for his paper “The Politics of Disaster Relief.” 

The prize for Best Presentation was awarded to Kyra Carmichael (University of Ottawa) for her paper “Sticky or Flexible? Evaluating Revisions in Bank of Canada Staff Forecasts of the Policy Interest Rate.” 


Best Research Paper: "The Minimum Wage, Earned Income Tax Credit, and the Market for Alternative Credit" Ian Sapollnik (University of British Columbia)

Best Poster Presentation: "The Economist: Underrepresentation of Women in the Profession" Rida Aamer (University of Toronto)  


Best Research Paper: "Does corruption differentially impact the productivity of female-managed microenterprises? A study of Latin America and the Caribbean" Minnie Cui (University of Toronto) 

Best Presentation: "Short-Term Inflation Forecasting in Canada Using Machine Learning" Galen Wray (University of Waterloo)


Best Research Papers: “Spillovers in European Sovereign Bond Markets During the Financial Crisis”   Maria teNyenhuis (St. Francis Xavier), and “Rationalizing the Obscene: An Inquiry on Mexican Cartel Behaviour” Nelson Wong (University of British Columbia).

Best Presentations: “Who Wants to Find a Lover Online and Why? A Study of the Determinants of Online Dating Usage and the Effect of First-Time Meeting Venue on Relationship Outcomes ” Sibyl Song (University of British Columbia), and “The Effect of Income Inequality and Other Socioeconomic Factors on Political Participation in Canadian Federal Elections “ Matthew Peters (St. Mary’s University)




Bank of Canada Graduate Student Paper Award:

The Bank of Canada Graduate Student Paper Award was conferred at the Canadian Economics Association (CEA) Conference from 2014 - 2017. The purpose of this award is to promote high-quality research in the subject areas relevant for the Bank of Canada's mandate. From 2018 onwards, this award is administered  uniquely by the Bank of Canada.  

For more information please visit the web site for the Bank of Canada Research Paper Awards


Past Graduate Student Paper Prize Winners

2017 Winner: 
Pierluca Pannella (University of British Columbia): “Credit Bubbles and Misallocation”.

2016 Winner:
Li, Bingjing (University of British Columbia): “Export Expansion, Skill Acquisition and Industry Specialization: Evidence from China

Honourable Mention:
Becerra, Oscar (University of British Columbia): & ldquo: Pension Incentives and Formal-Sector Labor Supply: Evidence from Colombia

2015 Winner:
Hugo Jales (UBC) - "Estimating the Effects of Minimum Wage in a Developing Country: A Density Discontinuity Design Approach."

Honourable mentions:
Chad Kendall (UBC) - "Rational and Heuristic Trading Panics in an Experimental Asset Market "  

Derek Messacar (U. of Toronto) - "The Crowd-Out Effects and Welfare Implications of Retirement Savings Nudges."

2014 Winner:
Jonathan Hoddenbagh (Boston College)  "The financial accelerator and the optimal state-dependent contract", Review of Economic Dynamics 24, March 2017, pp. 43-65.

Honourable mention:
Edouard Djeutem (Simon Fraser University) - "Model uncertainty and the Forward Premium Puzzle."