Skip to Main Content

56th Annual Canadian Economics Association Meetings | 56e Congrès annuel de l'Association canadienne d'économique

Photo: Carleton University | Université Carleton

The 56th Annual Conference of the Canadian Economics Association will be   held in a new, blended on-line plus in-person format. On Tuesday May 31st, there will be a day of on-line only sessions to accommodate those presenters who are not able to attend in person.  On Friday June 3rd and Saturday June 4th, there will be an in-person conference at Carleton University, Ottawa.

The in-person conference will follow the usual format for the Friday and Saturday CEA meetings, with regular sessions, panels, State of the Art Lectures, Purvis and CWEC lunches, and other events.  Selected talks on Friday and Saturday, including State of the Art Lectures and plenary talks, will be streamed via zoom so that they are available to on-line registrants. Other on-line events will be announced as details are confirmed. There will be no CEA sessions on Sunday June 5th. 

The conference is hosted by Carleton University. Professor David Green of the University of British Columbia is the program chair, and Professor Frances Woolley of Carleton University is the local organizer. The in-person conference is subject to local public health guidelines and Carleton University policies for on-site events. The CEA will notify authors if there are changes to the in-person sessions.
Update to conference format (email sent February 11 - PDF)

The Canadian Economics Association would like to acknowledge that the land on which we will gather in 2022 is the traditional and unceded territory of the Algonquin nation.


CEA Presidential Address 
Francisco Ruge-Murcia (McGill University) 

"How do Central Banks Make Decisions?"

CWEC Luncheon Lecture
Carol Anne Hilton (Indigenomics Institute)

"Indigenomics: Taking a Seat at the Economic Table"

Innis Lecture
Siwan Anderson (University of British Columbia) 

"Unbundling Female Autonomy"

Purvis Luncheon Lecture
Rob Gillezeau (University of Victoria)

"Policing, Lethal Force, and the Struggle for Equal Treatment"

State of the Art Lectures:
Martha Bailey (UCLA) 

“The Role of the 1963 Equal Pay Act  in Shaping the US Gender Gap”
Victor Chernozhukov (MIT)

"Long Story Short: Omitted Variable Bias in Causal Machine Learning"
Rachel E. Kranton (Duke University)

"Identity and Inequality"
Fabian Lange (McGill University)

"Employer Learning and the Social and Private Returns to Education"
Suresh Naidu (Columbia)

"The Labor Market as a Political Institution"

Inclusion Breakfast: Social Attitudes Towards LGBTQ+ Identities
Christopher (Kitt) Carpenter (Vanderbilt)

"Understanding Discrimination Against LGBT People in the US: Evidence from a Double List Experiment and a Survey"

Bank of Canada Fellowship Lecture
Michelle Alexopoulos (University of Toronto)

"It’s Not Just What They Say, but How They Say It! Exploring the Impact of Fed Testimonies on Markets"

Canadian Public Policy Special Lecture
Lindsay M. Tedds (University of Calgary)

"Igniting an Intersectional Shift in Public Policy Research"

CIRANO-JDI-Phelps-RIIB Special Lecture
Leslie Marx (Duke University)
"Coordination in the Fight Against Collusion"

CLEF Keynote Lecture (on-line May 31st)
Francine Blau (Cornell University)

"Labor Force Selection and the Gender Wage Gap"

Environment and Climate Change Canada Special Lecture
Joseph Aldy (Harvard Kennedy School)

"Implementing a Whole of Government Approach to Climate Change"


Conference Registration Now Open! See:

Exhibitors: please register here.


For details on complimentary media passes see the media page.  


Further information about the application procedure are available in French here, and in English here. For past prize winners see:


CWEC/CFÉC organizes Mentoring Sessions which are typically held during the CEA Annual Meetings or online around the same time. Details for 2022 can be found  here.


To apply for the 2022 CLEF Award for Young Researchers, please see details outlined here. The deadline to submit is February 27th, 2022. The award was held for the first time in 2021. 


Exhibitors can register here. Limit spots available.

SUBMISSIONS: (February 18th Deadline)

Call for Papers (PDF Version)

Conference submissions are now closed. To review the subject areas, topics, and JEL codes presented at the conference, please see the Submission Page


Groups or individuals organizing sessions were asked to contact the program office at (Attn: Paula Emery) by January 14th. For further details, see:


December, 2021

The conference organizer starts accepting submissions of papers for presentation at the conference through the web interface.

January 14, 2022

Last day for prospective special session organizers to contact the program office for booking blocks of sessions.

February 18, 2022

Deadline to submit your paper or abstract.

February, 2022

Advance registration for the conference commences.

March 31, 2022

Last day for notifying paper submitters on the acceptance or rejection of their paper for presentation.

April 13, 2022 Last day for paper presenters to register. Presenters must register by this date or lose their conference program slot.

Early April

The preliminary program is expected to become available.

May 5, 2022 Last day to withdraw and receive a refund (full refund minus a $40 administration fee). After this date, the registration fee is non-refundable. *If the format is changed due to the on-going health crisis, conference fees may change as well as options, without penalty, to withdraw. All delegates will be informed. 
May 13, 2022 Early registration ends, and late registration fees apply thereafter.
May 31, 2022 On-line sessions take place

June 2, 2022

Select sessions organized by affiliated groups begin.

June 3,

The in-person conference begins

Photo credit for header image: Carleton University



Detailed Programme:



Media Inquiries & Complimentary Media Passes:

Media Inquiries


Follow us on Twitter @CanEconomics
Tweeting the conference?
Use the hashtag: #ACEA22



We gratefully acknowledge the contributions from our conference sponsors.