Maple Leaf 
 

 
   President
Nancy Gallini   
   Secretary-Treasurer
Robert Dimand   
   President Elect &
   Conference Organizer
Frances Woolley   
   Vice President
Angela Redish   
   Past President
Charles Beach   
   Executive Director
Vivian Tran   
   Information Technology &
   Assistant Treasurer
Werner Antweiler   
  CEA Logo
 
Frequently Asked Questions


 
 
1. Does the CEA certify academic credentials of persons wishing to immigrate to Canada?
 
No. The CEA is not involved in this. For information about related issues, please contact the Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials.
 
 
2. Where can foreign students find out about graduate studies in economics at Canadian universities?
 
There are several excellent sources of information on the Internet. Check out the Study in Canada! guide published by the CEC network, and the information published by the Canadian Bureau for International Education. Another useful site is Studying-in-Canada.org. Authoritative information is also available from Canada Immigration and Citizenship; they offer A Guide for Foreign Students. The Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada publishes The Directory of Canadian Universities and features overview information on their web site including a comparison of tuition fees. You should also contact your nearest Canadian embassy; a list of embassies is published by the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT).
 
 
3. Where can I find information on the Canadian economy?
 
Such information is published by Statistics Canada. In particular, they offer web pages with selected Canadian statistics. Another useful source is the Government of Canada web site Canadian economy online, which features overviews and links to a variety of data sources from specific government departments.
 
 
4. I am a journalist and I am looking for an expert who can comment on a particular topic. Does the CEA maintain a database of experts?
 
Currently the CEA does not maintain an experts database. However, we are working on establishing such a database in the near future.
 
 
5. I would like to hire an economist. Can the Canadian Economics Association help?
 
The CEA will distribute postings for academic positions to a mailing list that includes chairs of all Canadian economics departments. Please refer to our mailing list guide to find out how to access the mailing list. Postings may be contained in the body of an e-mail message or may be attached as a PDF file. For non-academic positions, we suggest you use the Canadian Association of Business Economists job site.
 
 
6. Where can I find listings of jobs for economists?
 
Search the job listing services referenced on our employment web page.
 
 
7. Can I purchase or rent the Canadian Economics Association mailing list?
 
No. The CEA does not sell, rent or exchange its mailing lists.
 
 
8. Can my organization post information on your web site or exchange links?
 
Please send pertinent information to the CEA Secretary-Treasurer. We may post information about forthcoming events on our CEA home page if we feel that this concerns a large number of CEA members. The decision to post such information is entirely at the discretion of the CEA Executive. We do not post commercial advertisements of any kind on the CEA web site.
 
 
9. Does the CEA represent business economists?
 
The CEA is a scholarly organization that represents predominantly, but not exclusively, academic economists. The Canadian Association for Business Economics (CABE) is an association of professionals active in the field of business economics.
 
 
10. I just joined the CEA in order to receive the reduced, member-only registration fee for the annual CEA meetings. However, I'm still not able to get the member-only rate. What's the problem?
 
The Canadian Economics Association's membership database is maintained by Blackwell, the publisher of the Canadian Journal of Economics. It can take as much as two to four weeks for a membership to be processed by Blackwell and forwarded to the CEA's own membership list.
 
 
11. I've just refereed an article for the CJE and was told that I would be receiving a complimentary subscription to the CJE. So why have I received a renewal notice?
 
Go to the CEA Directory Services page and look up your entry in the Members of the CEA directory. Check on the expiration date of your membership. If your membership does not expire until next year, then you were sent the renewal notice by accident. Please ignore it.
 

 

 
© 2017 Canadian Economics Association.
The CEA web site is maintained by Werner Antweiler.
valid HTML

Maple Leaf 
 

 
   Président
Frances Woolley   
   Secrétaire-trésorier
Werner Antweiler   
   Président désigné et
   responsable du congrès
Angela Redish   
   Vice-président
Scott Taylor   
   Président sortant
Nancy Gallini   
   Directrice générale
Vivian Tran   
   Trésorier adjoint
Ana Ferrer   
  CEA Logo
 
Foire aux questions


 
 
1. L'ACE reconnaît-elle les diplômes internationaux des personnes qui veulent immigrer au Canada?
 
Non. L'ACE ne s'occupe pas de cela. Pour plus de renseignements sur ce genre de questions, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre d'information canadien sur les diplômes internationaux.
 
 
2. À quel endroit les étudiants étrangers peuvent-ils trouver des renseignements sur les études supérieures en économique dans les universités canadiennes?
 
Il y a plusieurs excellentes sources de renseignement sur Internet. Consultez le guide Étudier au Canada! publié par le Réseau des CÉC, et les renseignements publiés par le Bureau canadien de l'éducation internationale. Des renseignements fiables sont également disponibles auprès de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada; ils offrent un Guide à l'intention des étudiants étrangers. L'Association des universités et collèges du Canada publie le Répertoire des universités canadiennes (il y a des frais), et fournissent des renseignements généraux sur leur site Web (y compris une comparaison entre les droits de scolarité dans les différentes provinces). Vous devriez également communiquer avec l'ambassade du Canada la plus proche; une liste des ambassades est publiée par le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI).
 
 
3. Où puis-je trouver des renseignements sur l'économie canadienne?
 
Ce genre de renseignements est publié par Statistique Canada. Ils offrent tout particulièrement des pages Web de statistiques canadiennes choisies. Le site Web du gouvernement du Canada est une autre source utile L'économie canadienne à votre portée, qui présente des aperçus et des liens vers une variété de sources de données des différents ministères du gouvernement.
 
 
4. Je suis journaliste et je cherche un spécialiste qui peut faire des commentaires sur un sujet particulier. L'ACE tient-elle une base de données de spécialistes?
 
Actuellement, l'ACE ne tient pas de base de données de spécialistes. Cependant, nous travaillons à mettre sur pied une telle base de données qui sera bientôt disponible.
 
 
5. J'aimerais embaucher un économiste. L'Association canadienne d'économique peut-elle m'aider?
 
L'ACE distribuera les postes universitaires affichés par l'entremise d'une liste de diffusion sur laquelle se trouvent les adresses des directions de tous les départements de science économique du Canada. Veuillez vous reporter à notre guide des listes de diffusion pour savoir comment avoir accès à la liste de diffusion. Les postes affichés peuvent être inclus dans le corps du courriel ou peuvent être joints en fichiers PDF. Pour les postes non universitaires, nous vous suggérons d'utiliser le site d'emplois de l'Association canadienne de science économique des affaires.
 
 
6. Où puis-je trouver des répertoires d'emplois pour les économistes?
 
Faites vos recherches dans les répertoires d'emplois de notre page de l'emploi.
 
 
7. Puis-je acheter ou louer la liste de diffusion de l'Association canadienne d'économique?
 
Non. L'ACE ne fait ni la vente, ni la location, ni l'échange de ses listes de diffusion.
 
 
8. Mon organisation peut-elle afficher de l'information sur votre site Web ou faire l'échange de liens?
 
Veuillez faire parvenir l'information pertinente à la secrétaire-trésorier de l'ACE. Nous pouvons afficher de l'information au sujet d'événements à venir sur notre page d'accueil si nous considérons que cela intéressera un grand nombre des membres de l'ACE. La décision d'afficher ce genre d'information est à l'entière discrétion de la direction de l'ACE. Nous n'affichons aucune annonce commerciale sur le site Web de l'ACE.
 
 
9. L'ACE représente-t-elle les économistes d'entreprise?
 
L'ACE est une organisation de chercheurs qui représente principalement, mais pas exclusivement, des économistes universitaires. L'Association canadienne de science économique des affaires est une association de professionnels oeuvrant dans le domaine de l'économie d'entreprise.
 

 

 
© 2017 Association canadienne d'économique.
Les pages Web de l'ACE sont mises à jour par Werner Antweiler.
valid HTML